Full Price Books 08/05/2013 Mystery & Suspense

Meet Julia Jackson. Apparently, she’s been abducted…. A woman is taken at gunpoint from the downtown office of Southeastern Insurance, and the police believe the victim is Special Agent Julia Jackson. Only it isn’t true. Now, with the help of her new partner Mark Vincent, state fraud investigator Julia Jackson must find justice for the woman who was taken in her place. As Vincent and Julia begin to unravel the multimillion-dollar frauds that led to the abduction, they encounter a cast of quirky characters, one of whom will go to desperate lengths to hide a deadly secret. Things only become more dangerous as bodies begin accumulating around town, and Julia must discover the truth before the abductor comes to rectify his mistake.Mystery & Suspense

 

 

Voted #1 on Goodreads Best WWII Fiction and Biography; #5 on Thrillers You Must Read and #6 Best Spy Story. It’s the secret they don’t want you to find out – buried in government archives and not to be revealed until 2045. A political thriller that will keep you wondering right to the end – and beyond. Now you can read the real story about the attempt to smuggle a fortune in platinum out of Paris in the legendary Bullion Bentley. And its even more valuable human cargo, a mysterious Frenchwoman with a secret that could change the course of the Second World War. Alena and American Ben Peters are targets of Hitler’s ruthless investigator Ludwig Weber, whose family will be executed if he fails. His orders are to silence Alena before she can reveal her secret; capture her young son and take him back to Berlin; and recover the Banque de France’s platinum. As they flee their hunter, they experience the stark and tragic realities of war and the raw emotions of two brave people living on the edge of fear. And not everything is as it seems. Who is Alena and what is her secret that could destroy everything the Nazi movement stands for? A tale of intrigue in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Harris with the cutting edge of a Tom Clancy or W.E.B Griffin wartime yarn. WHAT READERS SAY Enjoyed the book immensely. Hard to put it down. Plenty of action, romance and international intrigue. A well -deserved 5-star book! – Richard Small The opening pages grab and don’t let go! A great WWII novel – Bros Washburn Absolutely riveting. I read it end to end and way into the night. Look forward to more – Rabinder Sikand LOVED it. More please. Thanks! – John S Webb Unputdownable. An enthralling read. It would make a blockbuster film. It leaves the reader wondering right to the end – and afterwards – Jon Marcus Read it in two sittings. Gripped me from start to finish. Made an excellent Xmas present for my dad and my father-in-law who absolutely loved it too! Can’t wait for your next book – Nic Hindle Really enjoyed the style. Well-developed characters that truly came alive in my mind. The pace of the story was good and the pursuit across Europe felt knowledgeable and well constructed – Simon P Butler This builds and is gripping. It would make a good film. Enjoyable and well written. I would recommend this book – Fiona Lever Very enjoyable book. If you like reading Alan Furst and Phillip Kerr you will like this book. More than the other authors i mentioned he gets to the point of the story and it moves quickly – Richard A Fisk Jr Based on historical facts, I enjoyed reading this version of history. I recommend the book to any one who likes historical fiction – Jack M Cook Non-stop action with a thrilling ending. Can not wait for the next one! – R M Love For readers of WWII fiction I recommend this book. The story plot is very intresting and exciting. One of the best I have read. – Patricia A WilsonMystery & Suspense

 

 

Marion is thrilled when she and her husband, James, buy a lovely, old mansion with a rose garden. After they move in, however, she falls ill and must stay at home to rest. Alone and depressed, she begins to have strange dreams which seem to take her back into the past. Although James is skeptical, Marion believes that when she sleeps, she is leading the life of a young Victorian woman, Mariana. Mariana used to visit the house as a guest of her friend Rosamund, whose mother is thought to have drowned while rowing on the river with her husband. During her stays with the family, Mariana comes to suspect that the death was not an accident. She investigates, but meets with obstacles that prevent her from finding the full truth. Eighty years later, Marion takes up the search. The scene shifts back and forth from the nineteenth century to the twentieth, as her discoveries push forward those of her Victorian alter ego. The latter, after she accuses someone of murder, is never entirely free from doubt: she thinks she may have persecuted an innocent person. By determining what really happened, Marion thinks she can drive away the guilt that has been hovering about the house like a ghost. What she fails to see is that her obsession is damaging her relationship with James. If she’s not careful, she’ll destroy her marriage and her future happiness. Note: Canadian spelling is used throughout.Mystery & Suspense

 

 

When archaeologist Angela Hunter discovers an ancient codex at a Mississippian Indian dig site, she is mystified. The Mississippians, also called the Mound Builders, vanished more than 700 years ago and had no known written language. Who could have written this journal? In the early 1300′s, Chipahua’s family is torn apart. After he rebels against the Aztec tradition of human sacrifice, Chipahua is cursed by a jealous priest. The curse prevents him from bleeding, thus casting a cloud of shame over him since he is unable to participate in blood-letting rites to worship the gods. He escapes his enemies with his 12-year-old son Tototl and undertakes an arduous journey from the Gulf of Mexico up the Mississippi River. Guided by strange visions, they finally settle in the thriving community of Migaduha – modern-day Cahokia Mounds, Illinois. Angela will let nothing stop her from solving the chronicle’s mystery – not Dr. Franklin Oettendorf, her former professor and lover, or Joseph Edgewater, grand master of a secret Native American society. She translates the symbols in the codex and learns a terrible secret that threatens the balance of nature today. Only by joining forces with Joseph does she stand a chance of conquering the horrifying evil. But can she trust him? Despite her growing attraction to Joseph, she senses he’s not telling her everything. Chronicle of the Mound Builders was inspired by the discovery of a Mound Builders village in the author’s hometown of Chesterfield, Missouri, which added to the mystery of the ancient civilization and its disappearance. This novel offers an imaginative narrative of what might have actually happened to destroy the prosperous community.Mystery & Suspense

 

 

Go about your lives as usual. Use common sense. Be aware of your surroundings. Easy for the Roseland Police Chief to say. Not so easy for the Roseland community to do. Not when residents of their Oregon coastal town keep vanishing. Who – or what – is snatching citizens? Is it aliens? A serial killer? Or a feral pack of red-eyed dogs? Detective Kevin McCoffey is determined to solve the case. Young, widowed photographer, Dianne Harris and her infant daughter find themselves face to face with the killers. Dianne’s old flame Kevin races to yank them to safety. But is he too late to save them both? With help from the ghost of Dianne’s dead grandmother and the town’s fortuneteller, Kevin and Dianne battle their own demons and their romantic history as they rush to pry Dianne’s baby from the killers’ grip.Mystery & Suspense